Kaminski House Museum
1003 Front St., Georgetown • 843.546.7706 KaminskiMuseum.org
A visit to the Kaminski House Museum is a must excursion for history buffs in search of Southern architecture and English and American antiques. Constructed in 1769, the Kaminski House Museum sits majestically on the banks of the Sampit River. The house was originally built by a wealthy merchant for his spinster daughter.
Through the years, the house had thirteen owners, including three mayors of Georgetown. The home’s pre-Revolutionary War details are an elegant background to the varied interiors that help bring to life Harold and Julia Pyatt Kaminski, the home’s last residents.
When Mrs. Kaminski died in 1972, she willed the house to the City of Georgetown to be opened as a museum in honor of her late husband and his mother, Rose Kaminski. Some of the furnishings and décor date from the early 1700s. More than a few pieces are of national and international significance.
The lawn of the Kaminski House Museum and the Stewart-Parker House are popular venues for weddings and social events that feature Southern- style charm and tradition.
The Museum’s gift shop, Julia’s Past & Presents, is stocked with an interesting array of gifts, unique jewelry and decorative home accents. The shop also offers a selection of Lowcountry gifts and books.
The Kaminski House calendar is constantly changing and growing. Follow them on Facebook or register online to receive emails with details about upcoming events.
The house and shop are open Mon. - Sat., 10 AM to 5 PM. Guided tours only at 11 AM, 1 and 3 PM or by reservation. Admission for a tour of the Kaminski House: Adults, $12, Seniors 65 and older, $10, Children 6-17, $6. Children younger than 5 are admitted free.